Tony

Tony leads tours in Raleigh. He’s also a professional tour guide in his day-to-day job – taking school groups to Washington, DC. Tony is great at showing off all of what Raleigh has to offer, and at making everyone around him feel happy and at ease.

What is your occupation? Director of Sales for Holbrook Field Trips.

Where are you from? My parents tell me I’m from New York… but I’m not so sure.photo (3)Tony

When did you move to North Carolina? I’ve called North Carolina home since 1998.

What do you love best about North Carolina? To me, it’s the best place to live for the food, people, lifestyle and the food. Did I already mention food?

What do you love best about leading food tours? I like being a part of helping people to have an amazing experience and to enjoy learning about what good food consists of. Some call it the Farm to Fork Movement, I call it the Don’t Settle for Chain Restaurants Movement.

What are your favorite foods? (List three) Shrimp and grits, Pork BBQ, Beasley’s pork shoulder meatloaf. Seriously, I’m not kidding, I started to get emotional eating this meatloaf. Who does that?

What is your comfort food? Egg and bread with homemade sauce. Nonna used to make me cry with that dish it was sooooo good.

What is your favorite drink? Pimm’s Cup from Neptune’s. I also like the Bloody Mary from Dockside in Wilmington. I like it a lot!!

What food/s won’t you eat/ try? Nothing associated with animal genitalia. Is that too forward?

Who is the one person you would love to cook with? Ashley Christensen (walking foodie goddess) or Chef Sarig (like Madonna, he doesn’t need a last name).

What are your hobbies? Basketball, sports, strength training, activities like that. I don’t do them necessarily because I enjoy them. I do them to stay in shape because I love to eat. Mangia!

Favorite restaurant? This is the most difficult question to ask a foodie. Seriously, this is like asking a politician to give a straight answer. I used to say Zely and Ritz without hesitation. But post-Zely (RIP), I would say Mateo in Durham, Poole’s in Raleigh, and Kadhai Indian Restaurant in Raleigh. You can’t make me pick a fave…I just refuse!

Favorite sandwich? Shrimp Po-Boy in New Orleans. I think I married my sandwich by the time I finished.

Favorite cookie? It used to be Wilmore Café’s chocolate chip cookie. Now, I don’t have a favorite. Maybe that’s what I can do this weekend. A mission to find a favorite cookie… who’s in?

Leave a Reply

